Dream Theater’s "Black Clouds & Silver Linings" to be released June 23rd

March 12 2009

Image:Dream Theater’s "Black Clouds & Silver Linings" to be released June 23rd

Info about the new Dream Theater album was released today:

March 13, 2009

New York, NY:

Progressive metal veterans DREAM THEATER have announced BLACK CLOUDS & SILVER LININGS as the title of their tenth studio album. The band commenced work on the album – their second for Roadrunner Records, following up 2007's Systematic Chaos — in October of last year.

Roadrunner will release the record on June 23. In addition to the standard version CD, the album will also be available on vinyl LP, as well as a 3-disc Special Edition CD that will include the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album and a CD of six cover songs, the titles of which will be revealed at a later date.

Six weeks prior to the June 23 street date, Roadrunner will release one cover song per week through digital retailers.

Drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist John Petrucci are once again at the helm as producers, while Paul Northfield mixed the record.

The band will embark on a world tour in support of the album beginning in Europe throughout June which will be followed by the second edition of the band’s PROGRESSIVE NATION tour featuring Zappa Plays Zappa, Pain Of Salvation and Beardfish throughout North America in July/August.

A video for the first single, "A Rite of Passage" will be shot in late March.

The track listing for BLACK CLOUDS & SILVER LININGS is as follows:

1. A Nightmare to Remember
2. A Rite of Passage
3. Wither
4. The Shattered Fortress
5. The Best of Times
6. The Count of Tuscany

With that track listing, honestly, I think it is a concept album. It has that feeling from the cover and titles. I can't wait to find out what the cover songs are

1 Responses to “Dream Theater’s "Black Clouds & Silver Linings" to be released June 23rd”

  1. 1) Chris Whisonant says:

    SWEET! Thanks for the info John... I believe I will definitely be getting this one. I hope it's not quite as "dark" as Systematic Chaos, though. Don't get me wrong - I still dig that album, but it's very dark lyrically. But I would definitely like to see a concept album from them. :) Their covers have always been great as well, so I'm looking forward to what's up their sleeves this time as well!

Leave a Reply